Page 1 of 2
A question of the upmost importance that will determine....
Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2007 5:35 am
by Power-Mad
Ok it's not important, but we want peoples opinions. I find it stupid and dumbing the game down to a large extent to have guns reload themselves as they're not pulled out. On the flip side, hyperjag likes that it happens.
I always loved back in the day when we'd unload all our clips to finish a fight, all get on an elevator, and just start pulling out a wide array of weapons putting new clips in everywhere before the next fight. As it is now, I can just keep pulling out my uzi, pulling out my smg, pulling out my uzi again, and have everything back even though I took no time to reload my uzi, and by the time I ponder how that happened, my smg is also reloaded.
Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2007 5:48 am
by Hell-met
I personally don't really care in OC.
But I really wish they'd fix the bug in the HL2 SP games.
That makes me go on rampages so easily.
Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2007 6:02 am
by skidz
In OC its more of the fight against the NPCs, and the NPCs don't give a crap how cheap we play.
Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2007 7:28 am
by Gandorques Hikla
A "sv_holsterreload 0/1" will be possibly the best solution for everyone.
(I know, every solution from me is a Console command xD)
That way Mappers/Servers can decide if they want a more Realistic or Arcade Like Gameplay.
Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2007 7:30 am
by Hell-met
Gandorques Hikla wrote:A "sv_holsterreload 0/1" will be possibly the best solution for everyone.
(I know, every solution from me is a Console command xD)
That way Mappers/Servers can decide if they want a more Realistic or Arcade Like Gameplay.
Well, uh, actually it's a real bug. Not a feature
Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2007 7:55 am
by DaMaN
Well, when I figured out that my weapons reloaded, I was happy! I mean, I didn't have to worry about pulling out an empty gun and going "click click click" right at an important moment (usually with several combine soldiers bearing down on me).
However, after playing for a longer time using the auto-reload, I found it getting boring. I mean, you'd go up against 15 combine soldiers, one-shot 5 of them with the magnum (i missed once), double-shotgun another few, then pull out the magnum again and blow a few more away.
It also seemed to limit teamplay - before I knew about the bug I was always relying on my teammates to provide cover fire while I reloaded. Now, I just go in with all guns blazing, which kind of kills the whole co-op experience.
So, yea, I'm all for fixing the bug. Or, like Gandorquos Hikla suggests, at least have a console command (though if he had his way, the entire game would be console commands
)
Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2007 8:06 am
by Hyperjag3
FYI, it IS a feature, coded in specifically by valve.
Code: Select all
void CBaseHLCombatWeapon::ItemHolsterFrame( void )
{
BaseClass::ItemHolsterFrame();
// Must be player held
if ( GetOwner() && GetOwner()->IsPlayer() == false )
return;
// We can't be active
if ( GetOwner()->GetActiveWeapon() == this )
return;
// If it's been longer than three seconds, reload
if ( ( gpGlobals->curtime - m_flHolsterTime ) > sk_auto_reload_time.GetFloat() )
{
// Just load the clip with no animations
FinishReload();
m_flHolsterTime = gpGlobals->curtime;
}
}
I suppose that console command could already be used to control it.
Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2007 8:09 am
by DaMaN
Hyperjag3 wrote:FYI, it IS a feature, coded in specifically by valve.
Code: Select all
void CBaseHLCombatWeapon::ItemHolsterFrame( void )
{
BaseClass::ItemHolsterFrame();
// Must be player held
if ( GetOwner() && GetOwner()->IsPlayer() == false )
return;
// We can't be active
if ( GetOwner()->GetActiveWeapon() == this )
return;
// If it's been longer than three seconds, reload
if ( ( gpGlobals->curtime - m_flHolsterTime ) > sk_auto_reload_time.GetFloat() )
{
// Just load the clip with no animations
FinishReload();
m_flHolsterTime = gpGlobals->curtime;
}
}
I suppose that console command could already be used to control it.
Whaddya know... it's not a bug, it's a feature...
I guess a console command would work.
Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2007 8:18 am
by Power-Mad
A console command should be made, but this thread lives on, it shall determine wether the standerd is on or off!
Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2007 8:55 am
by Hell-met
Hyperjag3 wrote:FYI, it IS a feature, coded in specifically by valve.
Code: Select all
void CBaseHLCombatWeapon::ItemHolsterFrame( void )
{
BaseClass::ItemHolsterFrame();
// Must be player held
if ( GetOwner() && GetOwner()->IsPlayer() == false )
return;
// We can't be active
if ( GetOwner()->GetActiveWeapon() == this )
return;
// If it's been longer than three seconds, reload
if ( ( gpGlobals->curtime - m_flHolsterTime ) > sk_auto_reload_time.GetFloat() )
{
// Just load the clip with no animations
FinishReload();
m_flHolsterTime = gpGlobals->curtime;
}
}
I suppose that console command could already be used to control it.
Are you serious?
Wow.
I'm wrong!
I say it should be toggale on the Create-server window, where the HL1 crossbow-style option is.
Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2007 9:08 am
by fug4life
Sorry, I've gone No, but agree that server creators should be able to toggle this option.
Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2007 9:21 pm
by Fenrir
I think auto holster is stupid. However having a toggle feature for it would be cool.
Posted: Tue Jul 17, 2007 1:55 am
by Hyperjag3
I just said there is a convar for it already in that code I posted. sv_auto_reload_time, set it to something high like 10000 and it will only be called if you have a weapon holstered for 10,000 seconds.
Posted: Tue Jul 17, 2007 4:19 am
by Fenrir
D=
I guess thats a good way to go about it.............
Posted: Tue Jul 17, 2007 7:22 am
by Gandorques Hikla
Then put it in the Server Creation Menu, so every host can easily write it.