Tutorial - How to convert models to OC player models.

Archived Source Engine and Obsidian Tutorials.
fug4life
Beta Tester
Beta Tester

Tutorial - How to convert models to OC player models.

Post by fug4life »

Here I will try and go through converting a model to Obsidian to work as a player model. I'm no pro at this and have only really learnt what I know through trial & error, but I'm willing to share what I know.
I'm not good at tutorials so I'll add pictures and more info afterwards and strive to improve it as much as possible.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Things you will need
(these are the programs I use, but you can use others):

1). Source Software Development Kit (SDK).
Can be found in your steam tools tab

2). GCFScape (Enables you to browse/extract the Game Cache Files (GCFs).
http://nemesis.thewavelength.net/index.php?p=26

3). Model Decompiler
http://www.chaosincarnate.net/cannonfod ... mpiler.php

4). GUI Studio Compiler
http://www.wunderboy.org/apps/guistudiomdl2.php

Extra programs that will be very useful are:

1). Hex Editor XVI32
http://www.chmaas.handshake.de/delphi/f ... /xvi32.htm

2). NotePad + +
http://notepad-plus.sourceforge.net/uk/site.htm

(Also Win Merge is a good program for comparing files).

4). VTF Edit/Lib
http://nemesis.thewavelength.net/index.php?c=178

To make sure there are VGUI images, so the model can be chosen from the selection menu you will need some sort of image editing program, personally I use Paint Shop Pro (Yeah I bought it), most people use Photo Shop. I believe you can aslo make do with just Microsoft Paint and Paint.net.

To install the above programs you should really follow the directions given by the program authors.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Last edited by fug4life on Wed Nov 04, 2009 12:43 pm, edited 2 times in total.
'I would probably smarten up before you meet Violet'.