A question of the upmost importance that will determine....
A question of the upmost importance that will determine....
Ok it's not important, but we want peoples opinions. I find it stupid and dumbing the game down to a large extent to have guns reload themselves as they're not pulled out. On the flip side, hyperjag likes that it happens.
I always loved back in the day when we'd unload all our clips to finish a fight, all get on an elevator, and just start pulling out a wide array of weapons putting new clips in everywhere before the next fight. As it is now, I can just keep pulling out my uzi, pulling out my smg, pulling out my uzi again, and have everything back even though I took no time to reload my uzi, and by the time I ponder how that happened, my smg is also reloaded.
I always loved back in the day when we'd unload all our clips to finish a fight, all get on an elevator, and just start pulling out a wide array of weapons putting new clips in everywhere before the next fight. As it is now, I can just keep pulling out my uzi, pulling out my smg, pulling out my uzi again, and have everything back even though I took no time to reload my uzi, and by the time I ponder how that happened, my smg is also reloaded.
Last edited by Power-Mad on Mon Jul 16, 2007 6:17 am, edited 1 time in total.
-
- Entity Master
- Posts: 360
- Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 7:50 pm
- Location: Mannheim, Germany
-
- npc_combinegunship
- Posts: 782
- Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 12:03 am
- Location: Parent's Basement
- Contact:
Well, when I figured out that my weapons reloaded, I was happy! I mean, I didn't have to worry about pulling out an empty gun and going "click click click" right at an important moment (usually with several combine soldiers bearing down on me).
However, after playing for a longer time using the auto-reload, I found it getting boring. I mean, you'd go up against 15 combine soldiers, one-shot 5 of them with the magnum (i missed once), double-shotgun another few, then pull out the magnum again and blow a few more away.
It also seemed to limit teamplay - before I knew about the bug I was always relying on my teammates to provide cover fire while I reloaded. Now, I just go in with all guns blazing, which kind of kills the whole co-op experience.
So, yea, I'm all for fixing the bug. Or, like Gandorquos Hikla suggests, at least have a console command (though if he had his way, the entire game would be console commands )
However, after playing for a longer time using the auto-reload, I found it getting boring. I mean, you'd go up against 15 combine soldiers, one-shot 5 of them with the magnum (i missed once), double-shotgun another few, then pull out the magnum again and blow a few more away.
It also seemed to limit teamplay - before I knew about the bug I was always relying on my teammates to provide cover fire while I reloaded. Now, I just go in with all guns blazing, which kind of kills the whole co-op experience.
So, yea, I'm all for fixing the bug. Or, like Gandorquos Hikla suggests, at least have a console command (though if he had his way, the entire game would be console commands )
Current projects: Return to City 17 and Rising Dead
Also, check out my Blag: http://daman-amappersworld.blogspot.com/
Also, check out my Blag: http://daman-amappersworld.blogspot.com/
FYI, it IS a feature, coded in specifically by valve.
I suppose that console command could already be used to control it.
Code: Select all
void CBaseHLCombatWeapon::ItemHolsterFrame( void )
{
BaseClass::ItemHolsterFrame();
// Must be player held
if ( GetOwner() && GetOwner()->IsPlayer() == false )
return;
// We can't be active
if ( GetOwner()->GetActiveWeapon() == this )
return;
// If it's been longer than three seconds, reload
if ( ( gpGlobals->curtime - m_flHolsterTime ) > sk_auto_reload_time.GetFloat() )
{
// Just load the clip with no animations
FinishReload();
m_flHolsterTime = gpGlobals->curtime;
}
}
-
- npc_combinegunship
- Posts: 782
- Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 12:03 am
- Location: Parent's Basement
- Contact:
Whaddya know... it's not a bug, it's a feature...Hyperjag3 wrote:FYI, it IS a feature, coded in specifically by valve.
I suppose that console command could already be used to control it.Code: Select all
void CBaseHLCombatWeapon::ItemHolsterFrame( void ) { BaseClass::ItemHolsterFrame(); // Must be player held if ( GetOwner() && GetOwner()->IsPlayer() == false ) return; // We can't be active if ( GetOwner()->GetActiveWeapon() == this ) return; // If it's been longer than three seconds, reload if ( ( gpGlobals->curtime - m_flHolsterTime ) > sk_auto_reload_time.GetFloat() ) { // Just load the clip with no animations FinishReload(); m_flHolsterTime = gpGlobals->curtime; } }
I guess a console command would work.
Current projects: Return to City 17 and Rising Dead
Also, check out my Blag: http://daman-amappersworld.blogspot.com/
Also, check out my Blag: http://daman-amappersworld.blogspot.com/
-
- Obsidian Gold
- Posts: 2885
- Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2006 4:09 am
- Location: BIENVENUE DANS MON PAYS LE KEBEK
Are you serious?Hyperjag3 wrote:FYI, it IS a feature, coded in specifically by valve.
I suppose that console command could already be used to control it.Code: Select all
void CBaseHLCombatWeapon::ItemHolsterFrame( void ) { BaseClass::ItemHolsterFrame(); // Must be player held if ( GetOwner() && GetOwner()->IsPlayer() == false ) return; // We can't be active if ( GetOwner()->GetActiveWeapon() == this ) return; // If it's been longer than three seconds, reload if ( ( gpGlobals->curtime - m_flHolsterTime ) > sk_auto_reload_time.GetFloat() ) { // Just load the clip with no animations FinishReload(); m_flHolsterTime = gpGlobals->curtime; } }
Wow.
I'm wrong!
I say it should be toggale on the Create-server window, where the HL1 crossbow-style option is.
Sorry, I've gone No, but agree that server creators should be able to toggle this option.
'I would probably smarten up before you meet Violet'.
'She has zero tolerance for idiots'.
fug's Obsidian files
fug's Obsidian clips
Obsidian wiki
Obsidian Map Database
'She has zero tolerance for idiots'.
fug's Obsidian files
fug's Obsidian clips
Obsidian wiki
Obsidian Map Database
-
- Entity Master
- Posts: 360
- Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 7:50 pm
- Location: Mannheim, Germany